Some advice about food
A number of our students and members are Muslims, Hindus, Jews or strict vegetarians or vegans and thus have dietary rules which they must follow for religious, ethical or health reasons. It is always wise to check with your student about food restrictions and/or allergies.
When we have a BWF pot-luck function, we ask you to label your dish as to vegan or vegetarian and to designate dishes containing pork or beef. The full contents would be helpful since there are some whose diet restricts root vegetables and honey.
Vegetarianism involves eating plant-based diets (fruits, vegetables, etc.) with the exclusion of meat (which may include red meat, poultry, and seafood). This may include by-products of animal slaughter, such as animal derived rennet and gelatin.
Veganism is a type of vegetarian diet that excludes meat, eggs, dairy products, and all other animal-derived ingredients.
The students trust us to ensure that the foods we say are pork-free, meat-free, vegetarian or vegan, really are.